R.I.P.D. (2013) Movie Review

R.I.P.D. (2013) Movie Review

Having seen the previews for this, I thought this might be a good comedy for the family. Like usual, I was right.

This movie heavily resembles MIB. It reminded me of MIB due to the cartoonish scenes when the “undead” are revealed and their plot to rule the world by piecing together a powerful relic, previously destroyed. It differed in that MIB was based in the “real world” versus RIPD was based in the afterlife with visits to the “real world”.

My only real complaint with the movie was that Jeff Bridges was sometimes really hard to understand because he sounded like he was mumbling. And, although the movie is “Rated PG-13 for violence, sci-fi/fantasy action, some sensuality, and language including sex references”, I felt there was more sensuality and sex references than necessary.

Despite the unoriginal plot, the movie was enjoyable and held your attention. If you’ve read my other reviews, you know I don’t ever really laugh or smile at movies but this one brought a couple of smiles.

Spend the dollar to rent it from Redbox or put it in your Netflix queue and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

