Laura (1944)

Laura – Otto Preminger

I’ve been trying to watch older films…again. I had made a point to watch classics like Gone With The Wind and Casablanca a couple of years ago but hated them and haven’t looked back. Well, I’m back to it and thought “Laura” would be a good start.

The plot of the movie is that a detective begins to “fall” for the victim in his homicide investigation.

I don’t really have any negatives for this movie. I am being completely honest here.

The actors/actresses did well and the viewer stayed in the dark on the culprit until near the end.  I had my suspicions from the start that turned out to be on target but as new information is produced, reasonable doubt set in.

The pace of the movie was quick but not too quick and humor speckled the entire movie. I loved that there was not a lot of time devoted to backstory. It was done in a narrative manner which aided in keeping the pace going. Brilliant.

I’ve read some of comments and reviews on the movie and would like to offer this. Clear your mind of crime/mystery shows from today and forget everything you’ve learned about forensics and proper criminal investigations. This movie is set in a different time before the sophistication of today’s detectives and scientists. I also advise against watching the trailer as it gives away some answers to this mystery.

I give it 4 stars for being a classy who done it.

It has no sex, nudity, cussing or violence and is based on a 1943 book.

Leave a Reply

